COMMISSION FOR AIR QUALTTY MANAGEMENT IN NATIONAL CAPITAL REGION AND ADJOINING AREAS

17th Floor, Jawahar Vyapar Bhawan (STC Building) Tolstoy Marg, New Delhi-110001

F. No. A-110018/01/2021-CAQM-1324-1347

Dated: 14.06.2024

Subject: Directions under Section 12 of Commission for Air Quality Management in NCR and Adjoining Areas Act, 2021 – Migration of inter-city bus services to Delhi-NCR to cleaner modes.

WHEREAS, Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change, Government of India, in exercise of the powers conferred under Section 3 of the Commission for Air Quality Management in National Capital Region and Adjoining Areas Act 2021, has constituted the Commission for Air Quality Management in National Capital Region and Adjoining Areas (hereinafter referred to as the Commission);

WHEREAS, under Section 12 (1) of the Act, the Commission is vested with powers to take all such measures, issue directions, etc., as it deems necessary or expedient for the purpose of protecting and improving the quality of the air in the National Capital Region and Adjoining Areas;

WHEREAS, Section 12 (2) (ix) of the Act empowers the Commission to issue directions in writing to any person, officer, or any authority and such person, officer or authority shall be bound to comply with such directions;

WHEREAS, Section 12(2)(v) of the Act also empowers the Commission to impose restrictions and regulate operations or processes that have implications on air quality in the region;

WHEREAS, significantly high contribution from the transport sector to the overall air pollution load in the entire NCR, particularly during the winter season needs no emphasis and efficient and cleaner public transport services particularly the inter-city bus services to Delhi – NCR from other neighbouring areas / states would significantly help to abate air pollution from this sector;

WHEREAS, in wake of the concerns of highly polluting inter-city bus services to Delhi from across the States / regions in the country, the Govt. of NCT of Delhi vide D.O. letter No. 10AS/STA/TPT2022/208 dated 19.01.2023 requested all the states / UTs in the country to work towards migration of only cleaner bus services to Delhi, through CNG / EV/BS-VI Diesel modes;

3 Lund

WHEREAS, towards the above stated objectives, a series of meetings were also held in the Commission with the States of Punjab, Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Madhya Pradesh and the UT of J&K, neighbouring the NCR;

WHEREAS, it emerged during such deliberations that transition to only CNG / EV buses by these states will take much longer time, it becomes necessary to prioritise replacing older BS-III / IV inter-city Diesel buses running from these States to Delhi-NCR with BS-VI Diesel compliant buses and action was initiated in this direction towards appropriate replacement of such buses;

WHEREAS, towards the above stated objective, the State Governments of Punjab, Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Madhya Pradesh and the UT of J&K apprised of their respective action plans to replace/ relocate older BS-III and BS-IV Diesel operated buses in a phased manner, including their plan to procure new BS-VI Diesel buses, CNG buses and EVs. as per the respective EV Policy;

WHEREAS, the current status of running inter-city bus services to Delhi-NCR from these states on cleaner modes and indicative timelines for the complete transition was apprised to the Commission and thereafter deliberated upon in the meeting held on 05.04.2024;

NOW, THEREFORE, based upon the timelines indicated by the states/ UT concerned during the meetings and in the expedient interest of abatement of air pollution from the transport sector in Delhi-NCR, the Commission, hereby prescribes strict implementation of the following schedule for the subject transition of intercity bus services plying to Delhi-NCR:

State/ UT	Total requirement of intercity bus services to Delhi-NCR	No. of EV/CNG/BS- VI Diesel buses presently running in these services	Gap for complete transitio n (No. of buses)	Targeted timeline for complete transition
Punjab	147	105	42	31.12.2024
Himachal Pradesh	238	207	31	31.12.2024
Uttarakhand	541	162	379	190 buses by 31.12.2024 and the balance latest by 31.03.2025
Madhya Pradesh	14	4	10	31.12.2024
J&K	66	20	46	30.09.2024

It is also directed that the above noted transition plans for cleaner buses viz. EV/ CNG / BS-VI Diesel, besides for the bus services operated by the state Govt. Deptts., shall also be as applicable for the inter-city bus services being

zand

operated by the State PSUs and private entities and thus need to be well disseminated and enforced also through such agencies. Bus services operating under the AITO license regime are however presently not to be covered in the ambit of these guidelines.

Transport Department/ Traffic Police Department of GNCTD & the NCR states and all other addressee States / UT accordingly, shall widely disseminate these directions amongst all stakeholders and ensure strict compliance through regular monitoring of the field level implementation, including for bus services being operated by the State PSUs and other private entities.

(Arvind Nautiyal)

Member- Secretary

Email: arvind.nautiyal@gov.in

To

- 1. The Chief Secretary, Government of Punjab
- 2. The Chief Secretary, Government of Himachal Pradesh
- 3. The Chief Secretary, Government of Uttarakhand
- 4. The Chief Secretary, Government of Madhya Pradesh
- 5. The Chief Secretary, Government of Jammu & Kashmir

Copy for necessary action to:

- 1. The Transport Commissioner, Government of Punjab
- 2. The Transport Commissioner, Government of Himachal Pradesh
- 3. The Transport Commissioner, Government of Uttarakhand
- 4. The Transport Commissioner, Government of Madhya Pradesh
- 5. The Transport Commissioner, Government of Jammu & Kashmir
- 6. The Transport Commissioner, Government of Haryana
- 7. The Transport Commissioner, Government of Rajasthan
- 8. The Transport Commissioner, Government of Uttar Pradesh
- 9. The Transport Commissioner, GNCTD
- 10. The ADGP (Traffic), Government of Punjab
- 11. The ADGP (TTR), Government of Himachal Pradesh
- 12. The Inspector General of Police (Traffic), Government of Uttarakhand
- 13. The ADGP (Traffic), Government of Madhya Pradesh
- 14. The Inspector General of Police (Traffic), Government of Jammu & Kashmir
- 15. The Inspector General of Police (Traffic), Government of Haryana
- 16. The ADGP (Traffic), Government of Rajasthan
- 17. The ADG (Traffic), Government of Uttar Pradesh
- 18. The Addl. Commissioner of Police (Traffic), GNCTD

Copy for information to

The Chairperson and all Members, CAOM.

XMM (Arvind Nautiyal)