COMMISSION FOR AIR QUALITY MANAGEMENT

IN NATIONAL CAPITAL REGION AND ADJOINING AREAS 17th Floor, Jawahar Vyapar Bhawan (STC Building)
Tolstoy Marg, New Delhi-110001

F.No.-120015/25/TPP/2021/CAQM- 948-955

Dated: 17.09.2021

Subject: Ex-Situ Paddy Straw Management through utilization in Coal Based Thermal Power Plants.

- WHEREAS, Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change, Government of India, in exercise of the powers conferred under Section 3 of the Commission for Air Quality Management in National Capital Region and Adjoining Areas Act 2021, has constituted the Commission for Air Quality Management in National Capital Region and Adjoining Areas (hereinafter referred to as the Commission);
- WHEREAS, Section 30 of the Act, 2021 provides that anything done or any action taken under the erstwhile Ordinance 2020 shall be deemed to have been done or taken under the corresponding provisions of the Ordinance 2021;
- 3. WHEREAS, under Section 12 (1) of the Act, the Commission has powers to take all such measures, issue directions, etc., as it deems necessary or expedient for the purpose of protecting and improving the quality of the air in the National Capital Region and Adjoining Areas;
- 4. WHEREAS, Section 12 (2) (xi) of the Act, empowers the Commission to issue directions in writing to any person, officer, or any authority and such person, officer or authority shall be bound to comply with such directions;

- 5. WHEREAS, the Commission has observed that Paddy stubble burning is a matter of grave concern for air quality in NCR and Ex-situ utilization of paddy straw is an important strategy to solve the problem, especially in the Coal based Thermal Power Plants, being one of the potential users;
- 6. WHEREAS, the Commission had taken up the matter regarding ex-situ stubble management with NCR States in the past and State Governments were impressed upon the urgency and criticality of ensuring supply chain of biomass for making the ex-situ options viable and successful;
- 7. WHEREAS, the Commission has issued advisory on 28.07.2021 to the State Governments of Punjab, Haryana and Uttar Pradesh regarding ex-situ stubble management for tackling the problem of Stubble burning.
- 8. WHEREAS, the matter of utilization of biomass pellets for co-firing in thermal power plants was discussed in the meetings held in the Commission on 09.12.2020, 13.07.2021 and also 5th Meeting of the Commission held on 19th August, 2021 and 24th August, 2021;
- 9. WHEREAS, NTPC, based on the trials and experimentation has confirmed that it is technically feasible and implementable to co-fire bio-mass pellets with coal in proportion upto 5-10% in Thermal Power Plants without any modifications in the boilers;
- 10. WHEREAS, NTPC has already started co-firing bio-mass pellets in its power plants and based on the success of the trials, is promoting the use of biopellets in its thermal power plants across the country;
- 11. WHEREAS, the Commission has advised State Governments of Punjab, Haryana and Uttar Pradesh in the 5th Meeting of the Commission dated 19th August, 2021 and 24th August, 2021, to use paddy straw towards

co-firing as fuel in their respective state owned thermal power plants, NTPC power plants in the region and also make efforts to "on-board" private thermal power plant operators for this initiative;

- 12. WHEREAS, the matter was further deliberated in the meeting chaired by the Hon'ble Minister, EF&CC on 03.09.2021, in which the representatives from Thermal power plants in NCR and adjoining areas also participated, Wherein the need to use straw based biomass pellets in thermal power plants was reiterated;
- 13. WHEREAS, the matter was further deliberated in the meeting held in the Commission on 09.09.2021, in which the representatives of all the Thermal power plants in NCR and adjoining areas participated, wherein the need to co-fire paddy straw based pellets with coal was reiterated;
- 14. NOW THEREFORE, in view of the above position and the compelling need to control air pollution from burning of paddy straw and its effective utilization as a resource, the Commission constituted under the provisions of "Commission for Air Quality Management in National Capital Region and Adjoining Areas, Act, 2021", hereby directs the Coal based Thermal Power plants situated upto a radius of 300 Km of Delhi:
 - To initiate immediate steps to co-fire biomass based Pellets, Torrefied Pellets/Briquettes (with focus on paddy straw) with Coal (up to 5-10%) in the power plants through a continuous and uninterrupted supply chain and
 - II. To take all necessary steps to ensure that co-firing of biomass pellets in Thermal Power Plants begins without any delay.

15. First Action taken report in compliance of the above direction be submitted to the Commission by 25.09.2021 and reports thereafter may be sent on a monthly basis.

(Arvind Nautiyal)
Member Secretary
Tel No.: 011-23701197

Email: arvind.nautiyal@gov.in

To:

- 1. Chairman and Managing Director, NTPC
- 2. MDs of Power Plants in NCR and adjoining areas:
- I. Mahatma Gandhi TPS, CLP Jhajjar, Haryana
- II. Panipat TPS, HPGCL, Haryana
 - III. Rajiv Gandhi TPS, Hisar, HPGCL, Haryana
 - IV. Deenbandhu Chhoturam TPS, Yamunanagar, HPGCL, Haryana
- V. Guru Hargobind TPS, PSPCL, Punjab
 - VI. Nabha Power Ltd, Rajpura TPS, Punjab
 - VII. Talwandi Sabo TPS, Mansa, TSPL, Punjab
 - VIII. Guru Gobind Singh TPS, PSPCL, Punjab
 - IX. Harduaganj TPS, UPRVUNL, Uttar Pradesh

Copy forwarded to:

- 1. The Chief Secretary, Government of Punjab, 6th Floor, Punjab Civil Secretariat-1, Sector-1, Chandigarh -160 001
- 2. The Chief Secretary, Government of Haryana, 4th Floor, Civil Secretariat, Sector 1, Chandigarh.
- The Chief Secretary, Government of Uttar Pradesh, 101, Lok Bhawan,
 U. P. Civil Secretariat, Vidhan Sabha Marg, Lucknow 226001.
- 4. Additional Secretary, Ministry of Power, Government of India.
- 5. Additional Chief Secretary, Power, Government of Punjab.

- 6. Additional Chief Secretary, Power and New and Renewable Energy, Government of Haryana.
- 7. Additional Chief Secretary, Department of Additional Sources of Energy, Government of Uttar Pradesh.
- 8. Member Secretary, Central Pollution Control Board

(Arvind Nautiyal)