File No. 16014/18/2021-MERD 6088-6111 Commission for Air Quality Management in NCR and Adjoining Areas

17th Floor, Jawahar Vyapar Bhawan, Tolstoy Marg, New Delhi-110 001 Dated : 07th January, 2022

ORDER

Subject: <u>Constitution of an Expert Group to examine the suggestions before</u> finalization of the policy to curb air pollution in Delhi – NCR.

The Hon'ble Supreme Court of India in its order dated 16.12.2021 in W.P. (Civil) No. 1135 in the matter of "Aditya Dubey (Minor) & Anr V/s UOI &ORS" directed the Commission that with a view to find a permanent solution to the air pollution menace occurring every year in Delhi and NCR, suggestions may be invited from the general public as well as the experts in the field. The Commission, in furtherance of this, invited suggestions through advertisement published on 24.12.2021 in three leading national dailies each in Hindi and English, inviting suggestions within 14 days of the publication of this advertisement and also by uploading the same on the website of the Commission.

2. As per the Orders of the Hon'ble Supreme Court suggestions received are to be examined by an Expert Group to be constituted by the Commission for the said purpose, before finalisation of the policy to curb air pollution. Accordingly, the Expert Group is hereby constituted as under:

| Sl. No. | Name and designation | net at 1 |
|---------|---|---------------------|
| 1. | Shri P. Raghavendra Rao, Chairman, HSPCB | Chairman |
| 2. | Shri Arvind Nautiyal, Member Secretary, CAQM | Member Secretary |
| 3. | Dr. N.P. Shukla, Member Technical, CAQM | Member |
| 4. | Dr. Prashant Gargava, Member Secretary, CPCB | Member |
| 5. | Dr. T.K. Joshi, Health Advisor, Centre for Occupational and Environmental Health, Maulana Azad Medical College (MAMC) | Member |
| 6. | Dr. Sachin D. Ghude, Scientist E, IITM | Member |
| 7. | Dr. Mukesh Sharma, IIT, Kanpur | Member |
| 8. | Ms Anumita Roy Chowdhury, ED, CSE | Member |
| 9. | Ms. L.S.Kurinji, Programme Associate, CEEW | Member |

Cont.....p/2

- 3. The Terms of Reference of the Expert Group are as under:-
 - (I) To consider suggestions received from the general public and experts in the field with a view to finding out a permanent solution for the air pollution menace occurring every year in Delhi and NCR;
 - (II) To recommend suggestions for formulating permanent solution for the air pollution menace ;
 - (III) To suggest a policy to curb air pollution before finalization.

4. The Expert Group may interact with interveners, experts and others the Expert Group feels necessary in this regard.

5. The Expert Group will submit its report within two months of its constitution.

Layshka

(**Rajesh Kumar**) Director, CAQM Email: <u>rajesh.k64@gov.in</u>

- 1. Shri P. Raghavendra Rao, Chairman, HSPCB
 - 2. Shri Arvind Nautiyal, Member Secretary, CAQM
 - 3. Dr. N.P.Shukla, Member Technical, CAQM
 - 4. Dr. Prashant Gargava, Member Secretary, CPCB
 - 5. Dr. T.K.Joshi, Health A dvisor, Centre for Occupational and Environmental Health, Maulana Azad Medical College (MAMC),
 - 6. Dr. Sachin D. Ghude, Scientist E, IITM
 - 7. Dr. Mukesh Sharma, IIT, Kanpur
 - 8. Ms Anumita Roy Chowdhury, ED, CSE
 - 9. Ms. L.S.Kurinji, Programme Associate, CEEW

Copy for information to

- 1. Chairperson and Members, Commission for Air Quality Management in NCR and Adjoining Areas
- 2. Secretary, Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change, Government of India.